The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story

Related image

So, finally got this one wrapped up. Phew! I now see what the fuss was all about. No wonder that this cast and show has won all the awards, attention and acclaim that it has. It deserves every single bit of it. I don’t call myself an expert but it’s honestly one of the most brilliant ensembles I’ve ever had the pleasure of seeing in a series. The only exceptions were for Cuba Gooding Jr, who starred in the titular role of O. J. Simpson who for the lack of a better word, I found whiny and John Travolta who played Robert Shapiro; as subpar. But maybe that’s just me. Also, this show has enlightened me on more than one level really. It made me aware of the tragedy that eventually culminated into the trial that’s inspired the first season of this show but also inadvertently made me learn exactly how the Kardashians shot to fame. Yes, really… I couldn’t sit through a single episode of the God forsaken show that’s made celebrities of them and their clan, so I never really understood what exactly made the likes of them such highly popular personalities, because frankly I don’t understand the appeal of their family or even their lives. But it’s now no longer a mystery, as to how they got their all access pass to fame and fortune… however unfortunate the events that laid the foundation of their claim to fame might have been. And it’s left a sour taste in my mouth, to think that there are people who have catapulted to unprecedented fame, the foundation of which lay in the tombstones of two people.

Leave a comment